Whatever it takes

Last Sunday, I was given an opportunity to do the preaching for preschool students in our Kids Church 5 pm service.

The Bible story was about the Ark of God. The Ark of God was a sacred chest that was built to hold the Ten Commandments.

He took the testimony and put it into the ark, and put the poles on the ark and set the mercy seat above on the ark.
-Exodus 40:20 ESV

The story focused on the period when King David brought back the Ark of God to Jerusalem. Prior to preaching day, I polished my simple presentation for the kids to undertand. I was confident that there will be no problem ,however while we were preparing the materials for the service, I found out that my presentation was corrupted. I felt nervous and quite sad because I lost something I thought valuable. Even though I looked hopeless ,having one hour left before the the start of service, I still made a new presenation. Thanks to God because He gave me strength ,will and wisdom to continue.

After finishing the simple presentation, we had our group devotion . I shared to my co-teachers what I learned from the death of Uzzah.

And they carried the ark of God on a new cart and brought it out of the house of Abinadab, which was on the hill. And Uzzah and Ahio, the sons of Abinadab, were driving the new cart, And when they came to the threshing floor of Nacon, Uzzah put out his hand to the ark of God and took hold of it, for the oxen stumbled. And the anger of the Lord was kindled against Uzzah, and God struck him down there because of his error, and he died there beside the ark of God.
-2 Samuel 6:3, 6-7 ESV

I told them that there will be times we will enconter challenges that will make us stumble. Those moments will test our obedience to God if we will hold on to His word or if we will choose hold on to the forbidden things. Sometimes we forget that God is our King and He has authority over us in whatever we experience . It could be a relational issue, financial problem, deadline , health problem or anything that could drag us down. As a kids church volunteer, most of the time the kids will test our patience. Teacher Angel, our 5 pm service coordinator, added that whatever it takes we are not the one who will make the service great but it is God who will make the program great, we just need to rely on Him and surrender everything that we will do to Him.

The kids were very energetic, running around the room but they stopped when one of my co-teachers told them to stop. They sang and danced as we led them in praise and worship. After that, teacher Angel led them to a prayer. When the Bible Story started, they eagerly listened and participated actively in discussion and crafts making.

image

Thank Teacher Lhevy for this adorable collage

Reaching out the next generation is quite hard. They will test your patience to the extremes. You will get tired in seeing them running around endlessly. But, thanks to God for giving us a vision that these children will become the future leaders that can help in changing the world. That vision encouraged us that whatever it takes we will continue to reach out the next genaration to Love God and Love others.

image

Leave a comment